Western Meadowlark

There are many colors on the Western meadowlark. Surely one of them should be called "meadowlark lemon"?

By: Jerry Poindexter

There may be as many as three species of meadowlarks, and it is hard to tell them apart. The Western meadowlark (Sturnella neglecta) is browner than and not as dark as the Eastern meadowlark. Its head is darker and the yellow of the throat is deeper and more extensive on the malar area. The Western meadowlark is the state bird of Kansas, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Oregon, and Wyoming. Eastern Washington University had several study skins available, and they all demonstrate some differences in coloration.

This article is from the Spring 2012 issue. For more information on our issues, check out our issues page.


Free tutorials, expert tips, exclusive partner offers, and more straight to your inbox!


I have not made this yet so I cannot rate it.

Include a Photo Include a Photo

Click the button above or drag and drop images onto the button. You can upload two images.

Cancel Reply to Comment

Thanks for your comment. Don't forget to share!


Report Inappropriate Comment

Are you sure you would like to report this comment? It will be flagged for our moderators to take action.

Thank you for taking the time to improve the content on our site.

Sign In to Your Account

Close Window
Sign In with one of your Social Accounts
Facebook Twitter
Sign In using Email and Password